Laurie Vocal Groups: The Sixties Sound Various Artists (Laurie)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

AS far as New York's premier Italian vocal group label was concerned, Doo-Wop continued unabated into the 60s, and here we have the evidence. A staggering 34 vocal group sounds, spanning 1962 to 1965, make up this definitive collection, which overlaps into the next decade with a 1972 action replay from the Five Discs. Based on the previously available CHD 215 vinyl album (the one with the spoof 4 Seasons cover), this collection includes fantastic vocal group sounds from the likes of Randy & The Rainbows, who cut the original "Denise" (later a hit for Blondie), The Four Graduates (who went on to fame and fortune as The Happenings, The Tokens (who still are out there doing it), Billy Vera (now getting occasional number one hits, producing jazz records and compiling for Specialty Records) & The Contrasts, and The Criterions, who went on to become both Cashman &West and Manhattan Transfer. Interestingly enough, the latter got heavy airplay on a remake of The Ad-Libs "Boy From New York City", a track which, with its echo of this earlier period, albeit the one at Red Bird Records, takes them full circle. The recent success of vocal acrobat Bobby McFerrin and an American TV accapella special (also shown here), hopefully, put the vocal sound back on the agenda. Meanwhile, here are some of the best sounds of an earlier classic era.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Denise - Randy & The Rainbows

  • 02 Preview Bye Bye - The Bon-Aires

  • 03 Preview Lovely Way To Spend An Evening - The Four Graduates

  • 04 Preview Please Write - The Tokens

  • 05 Preview Cry And Be On My Way - The Demilles

  • 06 Preview In The Beginning - The Illusions

  • 07 Preview Little Star - Randy & The Rainbows

  • 08 Preview I Love You Diane - The Four Epics

  • 09 Preview Judy - The Ray-vons

  • 10 Preview Why Do Kids Grow Up - Randy And Rainbows

  • 11 Preview I'll Always Love You - The Tokens

  • 12 Preview Away - The Concords

  • 13 Preview Jeannie Baby - The Bon-Aires

  • 14 Preview Candy Queen - The Four Graduates

  • 15 Preview Don't Worry, I'm Gonna Make It - Randy & The Rainbows

  • 16 Preview 4 seasons - Lenny Coleman & Ebbtides

  • 17 Preview Let's Dance Close - Jimmy Curtiss & The Regents

  • 18 Preview Starlit Night - The Emotions

  • 19 Preview My Heart Cries - Billy Vera & The Contrasts

  • 20 Preview Donna Lee - The Demilles

  • 21 Preview Tomorrow We'll Be Married - The Bob Knight Four

  • 22 Preview My Dream - Dino And The Diplomats

  • 23 Preview Does My Love Stand A Chance - The Del Satins

  • 24 Preview Love Boat - The Karillions

  • 25 Preview Happy Teenager - Randy & The Rainbows

  • 26 Preview Whole Wide World - The Ovations

  • 27 Preview Nicky - Bernadette Carroll

  • 28 Preview You Just You - The Criterions

  • 29 Preview Dance Joanne - The Four Epics

  • 30 Preview Sharin' - Randy & The Rainbows

  • 31 Preview Rock And Roll Revival - The Five Discs

  • 32 Preview Champaign Lady - The Teardrops

  • 33 Preview Walk Down The Aisle - Vinnie Monte

  • 34 Preview Marie - The Harps

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought