Jon Savage's 1983-1985 - Welcome To Techno City Various Artists (Jon Savage)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 1639

Continuing his long-running and highly respected series for Ace, spanning year by year since the germination of his 1966 volume for both Ace and Faber Books, Jon Savage serves us up another of his spectacular insights into popular culture, this time for the years 1983 to 1985.

Born out of the ashes of post-punk, there were plenty of experimental singles during the early part of this period: Siouxsie’s ‘Swimming Horses’, Shriekback’s ‘Lined Up’, Soft Cell’s ‘Heat’, Echo & The Bunnymen’s ‘Gods Will Be Gods’, and the Smiths’ ‘Girl Afraid’ – a perfect kitchen sink scenario. Pete Shelley and Scritti Politti went the electronic route to great effect, while the Special AKA delivered the perfect riposte to ‘Hard Times’ (all those ripped jeans) and having fun on the dole with the under-appreciated ‘Bright Lights’.

But by the end of 1984, the true action throughout this period was to be found in electronic, black American and club music: whether the metal beat of Section 25’s ‘Looking From A Hilltop’, Trans-X’s daffy hi-NRG Eurobelter ‘Living On Video’, Shalamar’s pure electro ‘Disappearing Act’, or the new music coming out of Sugarhill and Tommy Boy – Grandmaster Flash, Double Dee and Steinski, and the sampled Malcolm X.

This compilation begins in the mainstream and ends in the underground. It was the classic high 80s, before the full downside of the New Right political project was revealed – although the signs were all there – but the pop fizz cloaked a nostalgia that masked the beginnings of social and subcultural breakdown. The tribes were at war, wearing clothes from pop’s past, a dizzying phenomenon that looted the 50s and 60s in a costume drama of confrontation and dislocation.

As ever, Jon reports from the thick of the action and provides both front line reportage and academic insight. Play loud and enjoy the trip.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview All Tomorrow's Parties - Japan

  • 02 Preview Soweto - Malcolm McLaren with The McLarenettes

  • 03 Preview Lined Up - Shriekback

  • 04 Preview Telephone Operator - Pete Shelley

  • 05 Preview Gods Will Be Gods - Echo & The Bunnymen

  • 06 Preview Heat (12-inch version) - Soft Cell

  • 07 Preview (Hey You) The Rock Steady Crew - The Rock Steady Crew

  • 08 Preview Disappearing Act (12-inch version) - Shalamar

  • 09 Preview Bright Lights - The Special AKA

  • 10 Preview White Lines (Don't Do It) (12-inch version) - Grandmaster & Melle Mel

  • 11 Preview Techno City (12-inch vocal version) - Cybotron

  • 12 Preview Swimming Horses - Siouxsie & The Banshees

  • 13 Preview Heartbeat (12-inch version) - The Psychedelic Furs

  • 14 Preview No Sell Out (12-inch version) - Malcolm X - music by Keith LeBlanc

  • 15 Preview What Presence?! - Orange Juice

  • 16 Preview Girl Afraid (12-inch version) - The Smiths

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Why? (12-inch) - Bronski Beat

  • 02 Preview Love Resurrection (12-inch version) - Alison Moyet

  • 03 Preview Looking From A Hilltop (12-inch version) - Section 25

  • 04 Preview Think Fast (12-inch version) - Pamela Joy

  • 05 Preview Hypnotize (Version) (12-inch version) - Scritti Politti

  • 06 Preview Close (To The Edit) (12-inch version) - The Art Of Noise

  • 07 Preview Life's A Scream (12-inch version) - A Certain Ratio

  • 08 Preview Never Understand - The Jesus & Mary Chain

  • 09 Preview Sunspots - Julian Cope

  • 10 Preview Johnny Come Home - Fine Young Cannibals

  • 11 Preview In The Night - Pet Shop Boys

  • 12 Preview Single Life - Cameo

  • 13 Preview I Want You (12-inch version) - Cabaret Voltaire

  • 14 Preview Crazy - R.E.M.

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought