Jon Savage's 1969-1971 - Rock Dreams On 45 Various Artists (Jon Savage)


70s Rock
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 1559

Unlike the previous volumes in Jon Savage’s series of year-based 2CD compilations, which featured music from an expansive mixture of genres, this latest edition spans three years of 100% rock.

In the late 60s, British pop and youth culture began to fragment into tribes. There were many reasons for this: social class, economics, and events within the music industry itself. The success of the Beatles’ “Sgt Pepper” confirmed the primacy of the album over the single for the smart end of white pop, which was undergoing a prolonged dalliance with psychedelia and the drug culture. Hard mods disdained this trend, cleaving closer to the soul, Motown and Jamaican music that they danced to. By 1969, this began to harden into tribal warfare, as skinheads and hippies found themselves on opposite sides of the subcultural divide.

The divisions had always been there, even at the height of the supposedly classless mid-60s. I was an unrepentant rock fan. That was my tribe. I still bought Motown and reggae hits, but they were the hits: there was no deeper exploration. After Radio Caroline had gone, I’d lost most of the connection to black American music as part of the wider pop experience that I’d had in 1965, 1966 and 1967, even 1968. Thus streamed, I hunted the bins all over London for singles on Island, Elektra and Track.

On these singles, sound, attitude and, on occasion, lyrics were all important. They are expressions of a moment in time, when youth conflated purchasing power with political power. Looking into the future to a world they would fashion differently from that of their parents, they felt free to speak what was on their minds with the expectation that it might be listened to and have meaning. Here you have darkness and light, devilment and the searching for god, the escape to the country and the desire for rousing, primal rock’n’roll.

Rock in the US and the UK encompassed male braggadocio, anguished reflection, sincere if not naive protest, stonking riffs and loud, distorted guitars. Much of it was blues-based, particularly in 1969 as the back-to-the-roots impulse of 1968 worked its way through the sharp end of rock, but a year or so later some of it became wilder, stranger and even more basic – looking forward to what a truly 1970s white teenage music could be: that groundswell that eventually burst out in mid-decade onwards.

There was no real name for this period but, just before glam, it was an era of massive riffs, overloading guitars, mindless yet heartfelt protest, goblin chants and a general mood of questioning, exploration and disillusion. While many songs from this period have become generational clichés, it is hoped that this collection will help you in hearing them afresh. They were new once, like we all were.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Waitin' For The Wind - Spooky Tooth

  • 02 Preview Bad Night At The Whiskey - The Byrds

  • 03 Preview Creeping Jean - Dave Davies

  • 04 Preview Sudden Life - Man

  • 05 Preview Darkness, Darkness - The Youngbloods

  • 06 Preview Broad Daylight - Free

  • 07 Preview King Kong - The Kinks

  • 08 Preview Peace Loving Man - Blossom Toes

  • 09 Preview The War Machine - Leviathan

  • 10 Preview Junior's Wailing - Steamhammer

  • 11 Preview Walk On Gilded Splinters - Marsha Hunt

  • 12 Preview Days Of The Broken Arrows - The Idle Race

  • 13 Preview Reputation - Shy Limbs

  • 14 Preview Nobody Knows - Brute Force

  • 15 Preview Plynth (Water Down The Drain) - Jeff Beck Group

  • 16 Preview Lie To Me - Kaleidoscope

  • 17 Preview 1969 - The Stooges

  • 18 Preview Magic Potion - The Open Mind

  • 19 Preview Funk #48 - The James Gang

  • 20 Preview Rock And Roll Queen - Mott The Hoople

  • 21 Preview The Devil Came From Kansas - Procol Harum

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Comin' Home - Delaney & Bonnie & Friends featuring Eric Clapton

  • 02 Preview Spirit In The Sky - Norman Greenbaum

  • 03 Preview The Witch's Promise - Jethro Tull

  • 04 Preview Bad Side Of The Moon - Toe Fat

  • 05 Preview Flying - Faces

  • 06 Preview Cat Food - King Crimson

  • 07 Preview American Woman - The Guess Who

  • 08 Preview The American Ruse - MC5

  • 09 Preview The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown) - Fleetwood Mac

  • 10 Preview Shady Grove - Quicksilver Messenger Service

  • 11 Preview Archangel's Thunderbird - Amon Düül II

  • 12 Preview The Witch - The Rattles

  • 13 Preview Gerdundula - Status Quo

  • 14 Preview Natural Magic - Jack Nitzsche

  • 15 Preview Ultima Thule, Teil 1 - Tangerine Dream

  • 16 Preview Caught In A Dream - Alice Cooper

  • 17 Preview Sweet Jane - The Velvet Underground

  • 18 Preview He's Gonna Step On You Again - John Kongos

  • 19 Preview Travelin' In The Dark (For E.M.P) - Mountain

  • 20 Preview Beggars Day - Crazy Horse

  • 21 Preview Rock ‘N Roll - Detroit featuring Mitch Ryder

  • 22 Preview Yesterday's Numbers - The Flamin' Groovies

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought