How Many Roads: Black America Sings Bob Dylan Various Artists (Black America Sings)


Modern Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1278

Not for nothing is Bob Dylan considered to be one of the greatest songwriters of his, or any other, generation. His compositions have provided a prime source of repertoire for hundreds, even thousands, of recording artists for 50 years, and his catalogue continues to be regularly revised and revisited in all genres of music.

Spanning more than two decades of Dylan compositions, “How Many Roads” offers 20 first-rate examples of how well his songs have lent themselves to being remade/remodelled by high profile names in black American music. Few of his peers have had their catalogues visited as regularly by black singers and musicians. Only John Lennon and Paul McCartney (the subjects of the next volume in this short “Black America Sings…” series) come close in terms of breadth of catalogue and number of covers.

Black America was very quick to wake up to the potential of Dylan compositions and savvy singers started covering them almost as soon as he released them. Early fans included the Staple Singers, who cut no less than three songs from his breakthrough album “The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan” and can be heard here on a stellar version of ‘Masters Of War’. Sam Cooke was inspired to write his masterpiece ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’ after hearing Dylan sing ‘Blowing In The Wind’ on TV and wondering why no black songwriter had come up with anything that spoke so eloquently of the need for racial equality as the song’s opening line, “How many roads must a man walk down before they call him a man?” That song is heard here in a compelling 1968 rendition by front-tier Memphis soulman O.V. Wright, one of more than 30 black American artists who recorded it within five years of Dylan’s version.

This set includes some of Dylan’s favourite recordings of his songs and the CD comes to you with his blessing and approval. My own favourite tracks include the Persuasions’ glorious a cappella remodelling of ‘The Man In Me’ from Dylan’s “New Morning” album, Con-Funk-Shun’s surprisingly effective funk-up of ‘Mr Tambourine Man’ and gospel queen Marion Williams’ heart-wrenching deep soul version of ‘I Pity The Poor Immigrant’ from “John Wesley Harding”.

There are many other great tracks that finite CD running time didn’t allow us to include here, so keep your fingers crossed for a second volume. Until then, there’s plenty of superbly soulful singing to be savoured, on some of the finest songs that will ever be written by anyone, anytime.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Blowing In The Wind - O.V. Wright

  • 02 Preview Girl From The North Country - Howard Tate

  • 03 Preview I Pity The Poor Immigrant - Marion Williams

  • 04 Preview Maggie's Farm - Solomon Burke

  • 05 Preview Don't Think Twice, It's Alright - Brook Benton

  • 06 Preview From A Buick 6 - Gary US Bonds

  • 07 Preview The Man In Me - The Persuasions

  • 08 Preview Like A Rolling Stone - Major Harris

  • 09 Preview With God On Our Side - The Neville Brothers

  • 10 Preview Mr Tambourine Man - Con-Funk-Shun

  • 11 Preview Masters Of War - The Staple Singers

  • 12 Preview I'll Be Your Baby Tonight - Bill Brandon

  • 13 Preview Most Likely You Go Your Way And I'll Go Mine - Patti LaBelle

  • 14 Preview Knockin' On Heaven's Door - Booker T Jones

  • 15 Preview All Along The Watchtower - Bobby Womack

  • 16 Preview Just Like A Woman - Nina Simone

  • 17 Preview I Shall Be Released - Freddie Scott

  • 18 Preview Lay Lady Lay - The Isley Brothers

  • 19 Preview Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You - Esther Phillips

  • 20 Preview Emotionally Yours - The O'Jays

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An extremely enjoyable collection. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought