Groove With A Feeling: Sounds Of Memphis Boogie, Soul And Funk Various Artists (XL Records)


Catalogue Id:

Memphis music didn’t stop in 1975 – it adapted to the changes in the national scene. Sounds Of Memphis was one of the studios that documented those changes. 19 tracks, mostly previously unissued, tell the story.

In the mid-1970s the American music scene was changing. Buoyed by the sales of rock albums, the major labels began to consolidate their position of strength, and regionality became a thing of the past. As the independent distribution network began to fade, so did independent labels. In Memphis, the tipping point occurred in 1975 when the once mighty Stax Records closed its doors. The city which had been a major recording centre and talent hub for nearly two decades was suddenly no longer central to the music business.

The tracks on this compilation are drawn from this time and the period leading up to it. In the earlier selections there is an attempt to continue with regionally distinctive soul music, sometimes tempered by the new sounds of the day. This funk and soul was aimed at the charts but could only have been recorded in Memphis. The later tracks, from the post-disco period, show an acceptance of the new reality, with the Sounds Of Memphis studio and the artists who recorded there creating the type of boogie funk that was popular throughout the country. National radio may no longer have been interested in regional sounds but local studios still had the talent to make music with national appeal.

The music here serves as a reminder of the talent that existed in Memphis beyond the days of big international hits. Most of the tracks have never been heard before and offer an insight into what the decline of the city’s recording industry was about - and more importantly, what it wasn’t about. It certainly had nothing to do with a shortage of quality recordings, or lack of talent in the studios. These are the sounds of black America in the late 70s and early 80s, not specific to location, but essential to an understanding of the soul music of the time. It turns out that although Memphis music might have had a hard time, it didn’t completely die.

Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You Can Bet I Can Get You Yet - Lee Moore

  • 02 Preview Ridin' - Erma Shaw

  • 03 Preview One On One - Demetrius

  • 04 Preview Don't Fight It - Louis Williams

  • 05 Preview What You Do For Love - Lee Moore

  • 06 Preview Groove With A Feeling - Freedom Express

  • 07 Preview Do Your Thing - Unknown Artist

  • 08 Preview Cold Blooded Sally - Fran Farley

  • 09 Preview Politics - Everyday People

  • 10 Preview New Lang Syne - Kannon

  • 11 Preview Got To Have My Own - Fran Farley

  • 12 Preview I'll Be Around - The Jacksonians

  • 13 Preview Gone - Vision

  • 14 Preview We Need Love - Donald O'Connor

  • 15 Preview Lord Give Me A Little Of Your Heaven - Fran Farley

  • 16 Preview What's In The Dark - Lee Moore

  • 17 Preview Attraction - Erma Shaw

  • 18 Preview Tighter Tighter - Demetrius & Takelia

  • 19 Preview Dream Girl - Freedom Express

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought