Dues Paid. The Bluestime Story Various Artists (Flying Dutchman)


Flying Dutchman
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1378

This product is also available in these versions:
Dues Paid. The Bluestime Story (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

By the late 1960s the blues was no longer the primary music of black America. Following the rise of doo wop, rock’n’roll and soul, blues was increasingly viewed as old people’s music. Fortunately for blues musicians, they maintained a strong following amongst people of their own age and were being lauded by a generation of rock musicians who saw the blues as the well from which their own music had sprung. British bands such as the Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac and Cream made their debt to the blues well-known, whilst American acts who did the same also became successful.

With this new spotlight being shone on established blues artists, record companies began to record some of them. One of the most active was ABC’s Bluesway label which was run by producer Bob Thiele. Bluesway’s greatest success was with B.B. King, who became the face and sound of his generation of blues men, while others such as John Lee Hooker, T-Bone Walker and Otis Spann all made excellent records which updated their sound.

When Bob Thiele started his jazz label Flying Dutchman in 1969, he set up the Bluestime imprint at the same time, bringing with him many of the artists he had worked with at Bluesway. Bluestime was short-lived and most of the releases have been out of print since the 1970s. On discovering the master tapes, we decided to start reissuing them.

We begin with this compilation of tracks from Bluestime LPs. T-Bone Walker’s “Every Day I Have The Blues” album is wonderful, as are his appearances on albums by the Super Black Blues Band supergroup, which also featured Joe Turner and Otis Spann, whose performances are equally adept. Spann’s recordings are historically important as he died soon after they were cut. Of the more unusual material is an ebullient performance from Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson. We have included a track from Malcolm & Chris, a pair of white blues revivalists who were discovered and produced by B.B. King.

Look out for more explorations of the Bluestime catalogue soon.


By Dean Rudland



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Every Day I Have The Blues - T-Bone Walker

  • 02 Preview I'm A Dues Payin' Man - Otis Spann

  • 03 Preview Love - Harmonica Slim

  • 04 Preview Sail On (Live) - T-Bone Walker

  • 05 Preview Chicago Charva Chapter - The Plaster Caster Blues Band

  • 06 Preview Plastic Man - Joe Turner

  • 07 Preview I Needs To Be Be'd Wid - Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson

  • 08 Preview That's Alright - Harmonica Slim

  • 09 Preview Sunshine So Bright - Malcolm & Chris

  • 10 Preview Hound Dog - Big Mama Thornton

  • 11 Preview Shake, Rattle And Roll - Joe Turner

  • 12 Preview For B.B. King - T-Bone Walker

  • 13 Preview I Wonder Why - Otis Spann

  • 14 Preview Paris Blues - T-Bone Walker, Joe Turner, Otis Spann

  • 15 Preview Disillusion Blues - Leon Thomas

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought