Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures Various Artists (Dave Godin)


Deep Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures, LP (£24.78)

I first coined the term Deep Soul in the mid-60s to define a style that had surfaced earlier, but which, in the Golden Age of American Soul, became increasingly a force to reckon with. I described Deep Soul at the time as "the ultimate in American Soul music", but I'd not argue if you claimed it was simply the sort of music that "made your liver quiver" or "your knees freeze". Either way it's music that gets to you and, once it's under your skin, there's no known cure-.-you're hooked for life. Not that any of those held in its thrall would want to take any such cure anyway-.-for many, Deep Soul is where it's ultimately at...and it brings it all home without fear or favour!

Compiling a collection such as this has not been an easy task. This kind of music has tended to manifest itself on a variety of labels scattered over a wide area of the USA, appearing and re-appearing at various times in Soul history. But, this project is a labour of love. We've assembled some of the most breathtakingly wondrous and stunning examples of Deep Soul, performed by artists who are profoundly respected icons in the field. The majority of these tracks are making their debut in the UK here and now, (Jaibi's legendary You Got Me, Larry Banks' I'm Not The One and Brendetta Davis' tempestuous I Can't Make It Without You etc). You'll also find a few long-standing golden favourites which are perpetually fresh sounding and meaningful. But like all great artistic endeavours, Deep Soul never dates. As in other fields of specialist activity, there is no space for compromise here-.-no bending of the genre ground-rules. Deep Soul is an uncompromising style which, like the blues, has a pretty strict and mean code of ethics to which it must always adhere. The genre has one of the most avid and loyal followings of any musical style. But at the same time, because the fans are so staunch, they can be as vocally critical as any Apollo audience - spotting the sham and the second-rate a mile off. So you can be sure this disc was compiled with its constituency well-in-mind! I think this is quite simply the greatest CD of all time, but in saying that I'm not blowing my own trumpet. All I did was pick the sides that make my heart skip a beat-.-the credit and glory belongs to the artists, composers, musicians and producers who have, between them, produced what I consider to be 25 of the greatest Deep Soul sides ever! Deep satisfaction guaranteed...and then some!


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'm Never Gonna Live It Down - The Knight Brothers

  • 02 Preview Easy As Saying 1-2-3 - Timmy Willis

  • 03 Preview Lights Out - Zerben R Hicks & The Dynamics

  • 04 Preview Anyone Who Knows What Love Is (Will Understand) - Irma Thomas

  • 05 Preview Have A Little Mercy - Jean Wells

  • 06 Preview Try Love - Dori Grayson

  • 07 Preview I Can't Make It Without Him - Brendetta Davis

  • 08 Preview Showdown - Kenny Carter

  • 09 Preview I'm Not The One - Larry Banks

  • 10 Preview The Turning Point - Jimmy Holiday

  • 11 Preview Standing Here Crying - The Incredibles

  • 12 Preview She Broke His Heart - The Just Brothers

  • 13 Preview You're On Top - The Untouchables

  • 14 Preview It's Not That Easy - Reuben Bell with The Casanovas

  • 15 Preview Cry Baby Cry - Van & Titus

  • 16 Preview I Still Love You - Jean Stanback

  • 17 Preview Try To Leave Me If You Can (I Bet You Can't Do It) - Bessie Banks

  • 18 Preview Songs To Sing - Raw Spitt

  • 19 Preview How Much Longer (Must I Wait) - Lee Moses

  • 20 Preview Nothing's Too Much (Nothing's Too Good) - Billy Young

  • 21 Preview I Feel Like Cryin' - Sam & Bill

  • 22 Preview I'm Goin' For Myself - Eddie & Ernie

  • 23 Preview Tried So Hard To Please Her - The Knight Brothers

  • 24 Preview The Love Of My Man - Pearlean Gray & The Messengers

  • 25 Preview You Got Me - Jaibi

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


This is a breathtaking album... An emotional battlefield of raw soul. ★★★★


Dave Godin's selection of prime deep soul cuts is the kind of record that changes lives.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought