Combo Vocal Groups Vol 1 Various Artists (Combo)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Combo Vocal Groups Vol 1 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Jake Porter was one of the select group of independent record company owners who gave us the best of West Coast R&B and doo-wop music. Starting in the early 50s and persevering until the early 70s, Jake recorded numerous groups, duos and R&B outfits for his Los Angeles-based Combo label.

In COMBO VOCAL GROUPS Vol.1, we take a first look at his doo-wop output. This first volume features collectors' classics ranging from early sides such as the Squires Oh Darling and Let's Give Love A Try, through to later output such as Carl Ell & His Buddies with Sunshine. From the mid-50s period there are a number of sides from one of Jake's favourite groups, the Native Boys. Their recording of I've Got A Feeling makes an interesting contrast with the same song as rendered (with overlapping personnel) by the Ebbtones on the Ebb Story Vol. 1 (CDCHD 524). Also featured is one of Combo's biggest hits, the classic Watts by Brother Woodman and the Chanters with Gene Ford on lead. It celebrates the good life in the black section of LA, many years before the district's name hit the headlines as a result of worse times.

As well as his released sides, Jake Porter's tapes have revealed a wealth of hitherto unissued material. So, following the successful format for previous compilations such as the Dootone Doo-Wop series (Volumes 1-3 CDCHD 579, 588, 676), the Combo group volumes will also feature a mixture of released and unreleased recordings. On Volume 1 listen, for example, to Jesse Belvin singing One Little Blessing with a group before he recorded the song for Specialty, and to Bill Mason and his group on It All Comes Back To You to see the treats in store for future volumes. All tracks with the exception of Let's Give Love A Try and Oh Darling, both by the Squires come direct from the original master tapes (note: the CD packaging for volume one omits this information, but it will be corrected as soon as possible).

Thanks are due to several collectors and researchers who have helped make this volume a reality, but there's still room for more help! If anyone has memorabilia, particularly photographs of groups that have appeared on the Combo label, please contact Peter Gibbon at Ace Records.

by Peter Gibbon


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Just Once More - The Paramounts

  • 02 Preview The First Day Of School - The Ko Kos

  • 03 Preview I've Got A Feeling - The Native Boys

  • 04 Preview Take My Hand - The Echoes

  • 05 Preview Fine Fine Baby - Jake Porter & The Laurels

  • 06 Preview I Love You So - Brother Woodman & The Chanters (featuring Gene Ford)

  • 07 Preview At Midnite - The Nutones

  • 08 Preview Where Are You Tonight (Fast Version) - The Squires (Lead: Delmar Wilburn)

  • 09 Preview Watts - Brother Woodman & The Chanters (featuring Gene Ford)

  • 10 Preview Darline (Long Intro) - Ray Frazier & The Blenders

  • 11 Preview Strange Love - The Native Boys

  • 12 Preview Oh Dear Beloved - The Ko Kos

  • 13 Preview Let's Give Love A Try - The Squires

  • 14 Preview Tears - The Native Boys

  • 15 Preview One Little Blessing - Jesse Belvin

  • 16 Preview (Why Can't We Be) As Other Lovers Are - The Debonairs

  • 17 Preview Honey Babe - The Sharps

  • 18 Preview Sunshine - Carl Ell & His Buddies

  • 19 Preview Sweet Sue - The Starliters with Jonesy's Combo

  • 20 Preview It All Comes Back To You - Bill Mason

  • 21 Preview Darling Stay With Me - The Savoys

  • 22 Preview Reap What You Sow - Gene Moore & The Chimes

  • 23 Preview Am I A Fool? (A Cappella) - Delmar Wilburn & The Squires

  • 24 Preview Emmy Lou - Ray Frazier & The Blenders

  • 25 Preview I'm Such A Lovin' Man - The Sharps (a cappella)

  • 26 Preview Oh Darling - The Squires

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A fascinating issue for anyone wanting to dig deeper into 50's vocal group history.

Record Collector

A mixture of R&B, rock 'n' roll and smooth ballads, all with that indefinable west coast looseness that never fails to excite...superb stuff.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought