Ciao Bella! Italian Girl Singers Of The 1960s Various Artists (Ace International)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1414

This product is also available in these versions:
Ciao Bella! Italian Girl Singers Of The 60s, LP (£24.78)

Connoisseurs of 1960s girl-pop have been well served in the CD era, particularly those with a preference for American or British singers. Good music, of course, is not exclusive to the English-speaking world, and collections devoted to the female vocalists of France, Japan, Spain and Germany are also available, but to the best of my knowledge their Italian counterparts have not been anthologised. If “Ciao Bella!”, released as a 24-track CD and a 12-track 180g white vinyl LP in gatefold sleeve, is the first of its kind, let’s hope it’s not the last.

In a country known for its song festivals, most notably the prestigious event held annually in Sanremo, lushly orchestrated ballads have always been especially popular, and a few exceptional examples are featured here. We open, however, with a selection of uptempo titles.

The CD version begins with Brunetta’s prized dancefloor-filler ‘Baluba Shake’ and closes with ‘Cuore’, a dramatic beat ballad by freckle-faced firebrand Rita Pavone. Star of the show is the prolific Mina, queen bee of Italy’s female singers, with three tracks: ‘No’, a jangly folk rock nugget; ‘Più Di Te’, a cover of the Tracy Dey/Bob Crewe classic ‘I Won’t Tell’; and ‘Se Telefonando’, a sophisto-pop opus courtesy of maestro Ennio Morricone.

Other highlights include the sitar-embellished ‘Il Mio Posto Qual’è’ by Ornella Vanoni, a convincing cover of ‘Baby Please Don’t Go’ by beat girl Caterina Caselli, Gigliola Cinquetti’s superbly orchestrated Eurovision-winner ‘Non Ho L’età (Per Amarti)’ and breathy-voiced actress Catherine Spaak’s bossa-flavoured ‘La Notte È Fatta Per Rubare’.

Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Baluba Shake - Brunetta e i suoi Balubas

  • 02 Preview No - Mina

  • 03 Preview Il Mio Posto Qual'è - Ornella Vanoni

  • 04 Preview Questa Sinfonia (Symphonie) - Carmen Villani

  • 05 Preview L'Uomo D'Oro - Caterina Caselli

  • 06 Preview Un Amore Inutile - Isabella Iannetti

  • 07 Preview Il Geghegè - Rita Pavone

  • 08 Preview Sono Qui Con Voi (Baby Please Don't Go) - Caterina Caselli con Gli Amici

  • 09 Preview Più Di Te (I Won't Tell) - Mina

  • 10 Preview La Notte È Fatta Per Rubare - Catherine Spaak

  • 11 Preview Thrilling (La Regola Del Gioco) - Rita Monico

  • 12 Preview Credi (Getting Ready For The Heartbreak) - Iva Zanicchi

  • 13 Preview Penso A Te - Catherine Spaak

  • 14 Preview Se Telefonando... - Mina

  • 15 Preview L'Appuntamento (Sentado À Beira Do Caminho) - Ornella Vanoni

  • 16 Preview Non Ho L'Età (Per Amarti) - Gigliola Cinquetti

  • 17 Preview Un Bacio Sulle Dita - Wilma Goich

  • 18 Preview Quanti Ragazzi - Isabella Iannetti

  • 19 Preview Ragazzo Triste (But You're Mine) - Patty Pravo

  • 20 Preview Pà Diglielo A Mà - Nada

  • 21 Preview Un Minuto E Non Di Più - Milena Cantù

  • 22 Preview Come Un Anno Fà - Wilma Goich

  • 23 Preview Non È Mai Tardi (Dressed In Black) - Rita Monico

  • 24 Preview Cuore (Heart) - Rita Pavone

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An absolute joy ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought