Central Rocks! The Central Avenue Scene 1951-58 Vol 2 Various Artists (Central Avenue Scene)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1037

This product is also available in these versions:
Central Rocks! The Central Avenue Scene 1951-58 Vol 2 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

One of the greatest pleasures I have as an Ace A&R person is the researching of the acetates and tapes of the many West Coast-based R&B labels that Ace has acquired down the years. I'm always keen to build on the solid foundation of Ray Topping's pioneering vinyl compilations from the 1980s, and thankfully the depth and breadth of repertoire Ace now owns, across labels like Dootone, RIH, Combo, Money, Cash, Blue, Modern, RPM, Flair and more, gives me plenty of scope to do just that.

I've enjoyed getting and keeping a cohesive Central Avenue R&B" series up and running enormously. Ace had been working towards such a thing for some time prior to my arrival, and I've been happy to jump into the driver's seat and continue Ray's work with his encouragement. I'm especially proud of the multi-artist series that focuses on lesser known names from Modern and Combo that debuted during 2004, and have been gratified by the warm response to both from R&B fans.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Wine - Ernie Fields Orchestra

  • 02 Preview Big Fat Mama - Chuck Higgins & his Mellotones (Vocal by Daddy Cleanhead)

  • 03 Preview Told You Twice - Cledus Harrison

  • 04 Preview You Lied - Mamie Ree

  • 05 Preview Ain't Got No Money - The Great Gates

  • 06 Preview I Love That Kinda Carryin' On - Rozelle Gayle

  • 07 Preview The Chase - Paul Preston & his Orchestra

  • 08 Preview The Blacksmith Blues - Chuck Higgins Orchestra

  • 09 Preview Wino - Jack McVea & his Orchestra

  • 10 Preview No Need Acting Like That - Mamie Ree & Young Wolf with the Gus Jenkins Band

  • 11 Preview Watts - Brother Woodman & the Chanters featuring Eugene Ford

  • 12 Preview Haste Makes Waste - Rozelle Gayle

  • 13 Preview Baby Baby Take A Look - Robbin Ray

  • 14 Preview Twisted - Paul Preston & his Orchestra

  • 15 Preview Flip-Top Box - Chuck Higgins Orchestra

  • 16 Preview Caught - Mamie Ree & Young Wolf with the Gus Jenkins Band

  • 17 Preview Hot Mama - Brother Woodman & the Chanters Featuring Ethel Brown

  • 18 Preview Curfew - Joe Houston & his Combo

  • 19 Preview Love My Baby - Robbin Ray

  • 20 Preview Ko Ko Mo - Gene & Eunice

  • 21 Preview Yaka Boo - Jack McVea & his Combo - vocal Al Smith

  • 22 Preview Your Loving Is Just All Right - Mamie Ree

  • 23 Preview Real Gone Hound Dog - Chuck Higgins & his Mellotones (Vocal by Daddy Cleanhead)

  • 24 Preview Central Rocks - The Great Gates

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


This is a fine CD...if you like rock 'n' roll and saxophones you'll have a smashing hour.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought