Blues For Dootsie: The Blue & Dootone Sides Various Artists (Dootone)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1115

This product is also available in these versions:
Blues For Dootsie: The Blue & Dootone Sides (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Bandleader, record man and entrepreneur Dootsie Williams is best known for the string of doo wop records that he made in the mid-50s, 1954’s Earth Angel by the Penguins being by far the most successful. But before Dootone Records, there was the Blue label, formed in May 1949, so it is appropriate that we are making these sides available for the first time 57 years to the month since the launch of the label. Initially Blue was formed to cut risqué songs, but as soon as the Petrillo ban waned Williams was in the studio cutting blues sides.

This CD covers the best of those blues sides, or at least the best that we could find. Take my word for it, Blue 78s are not easy to locate. We have a few of the original metal stampers used to press the original 78s, so we had these cleaned up as best possible and stamped out 78s onto 12” vinyl, from which we made dubs. The unissued Stormy Herman sides existed on tape alongside a few others, but in the main we had to dub from disc.

This project has been four years in the making, and much of the hold-up was in trying to get hold of those last few missing 78s. One of the elusive ones was Ressie Mae Jones rendition of Automatic Daddy – from the title alone a ‘must have’ for the CD. One theory even developed that this was a plant in the discography and that the record didn’t exist, but then, just as we were giving up on it, one turned up for auction. There were two other lost causes, but one of these, White Keys Jackson’s New Lease Blues / Wild Woman Blues (Blue 108 )may not have come out. The 108 number was also used on a Billy Mitchell risqué side, so it is possible that the WKJ side was not in fact issued – pity, good titles. That just leaves Blue 106 Bruce Collins’ I’m Gonna Sing And Shout / I Done Got Ready as the great lost record from the Blue label.

Never mind, much of this CD will be new to even some of the heaviest collector’s ears. Apart from the super-rare Blue blues sides by Johnny Taylor (no, neither of them), early Bobby Nunn and great Joe Turner, there are some delightful boogie woogie cuts, with a risqué side from Cleo Brown. Added to the Blue sides are most of the blues recordings made for Dootone and Authentic, including four down home blues from Stormy Herman and some later uptown cuts to round the whole thing off. Altogether I hope you find this as entertaining a package to listen to as I did in putting it together.

OK which smart Alec has Blue 106?

By Roger Armstrong


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview West Coast Baby - Johnny Taylor & His Mellow 5

  • 02 Preview I Got A Country Gal - Bobby Nunn & His Hot Five

  • 03 Preview Bring Your Lovin' Back To Me - Bobby Nunn & His Hot Five

  • 04 Preview Rocky Mountain Blues - Johnny Taylor & His Mellow 5

  • 05 Preview Everybody's Jumpin' Tonight - Dootsie Williams & Rhythm Kings with Big Joe Turner

  • 06 Preview I'm Clappin' And Shoutin' - Bumps Myers & His Frantic Five (vocal by Bobby Nunn)

  • 07 Preview I'm Tellin' You Baby - Bumps Myers & His Frantic Five (vocal by Bobby Nunn)

  • 08 Preview Gamblin' Blues - Dootsie Williams & Rhythm Kings with Big Joe Turner

  • 09 Preview Mr Monkey Man - Johnny Taylor & His Orchestra

  • 10 Preview Back Alley Blues - Johnny Taylor & His Orchestra

  • 11 Preview You'd Better Come Home Baby - Violet Hall

  • 12 Preview He's An Ivory Beating Baby (On The Baby Grand) - Violet Hall

  • 13 Preview Roll It Boogie - Cleo Brown

  • 14 Preview The Hole In The Wall - Cleo Brown

  • 15 Preview Baby, Let's Make Some Love - Cleo Brown

  • 16 Preview Blues Boogie - Cleo Brown

  • 17 Preview Anticipating Blues - Bobby Nunn

  • 18 Preview I Love Ya, I Love Ya, I Love Ya (Low Down Dog) - Dootsie Williams Orchestra with Big Joe Turner

  • 19 Preview Hard Luck, Women And Strife - Pete Johnson & His All Stars (vocal by Big Duke)

  • 20 Preview Richmond Blues - Betty Hall Jones

  • 21 Preview Automatic Daddy - Ressie Mae Jones & Her Combo

  • 22 Preview The Jitterbug - Stormy Herman & His Midnight Ramblers

  • 23 Preview Rent Day - Stormy Herman

  • 24 Preview Cadillac Fever - Stormy Herman

  • 25 Preview Bad Luck - Stormy Herman & His Midnight Ramblers

  • 26 Preview Katy Lee - Fats Gaines

  • 27 Preview You're With Me, Baby - Fats Gaines

  • 28 Preview My Man Is Gone - Fats Gaines Orchestra (vocal by Rebecca Williams)

  • 29 Preview Are You Ready To Go Steady - Paul Monday

  • 30 Preview My Mistake - Paul Monday

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought