Behind Closed Doors - Where Country Meets Soul Various Artists (Where Country Meets Soul)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

The line that separates the genres of country and soul music has never been a particularly thick one and over the decades there has been a healthy swapping of repertoire between the genres. Jimmie Rodgers, country music’s first superstar, established himself by putting a hillbilly spin on delta blues – and that was back in the late 1920s. Most 60s soul singers who grew up in the segregated American south in the 30s and 40s probably heard more country music on the radio than they did blues or jazz, as there was little to no radio programming devoted to music for black people. It’s therefore no surprise to find that there were so many classic adaptations of great country songs during the golden age of soul music.

“Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul” brings together 24 supreme spins on songs that were first recorded – usually successfully – by country artists. It’s not the first such compilation to do so but, if I say so myself, it’s the best one to date. As one who regards both genres to be of equal importance, and who collects both soul and country 45s, I can say with some certainly that nobody is going to be disappointed with the tracks in this top-notch compilation. (For those who might wish to check out the country originals after hearing them sung with soul, I have listed the first version of each song in the track-by-track annotations.)

Where country meets soul can be a pessimistic and dark place. Songs such as ‘The Grand Tour’ or ‘Life Turned Her That Way’ are going to have a downbeat outlook whoever is singing them; they are as tailor-made for Aaron Neville and James Carr as they are for those who originally sang them for country audiences (George Jones and Little Jimmy Dickens), while Percy Sledge sings ‘Take Time To Know Her’ with the experience of someone who sounds like he lived every minute of its bleak narrative and provides this collection with an undisputed highlight.

The place can also be optimistic and light, as Joe Simon’s wonderful version of the early Waylon Jennings hit ‘Yours, Love’ and Little Milton’s romping revamp of Charlie Rich’s ‘Behind Closed Doors’ show. Somewhere in the middle there’s Moses & Joshua Dillard’s tear ’em up take on ‘My Elusive Dreams’, a song usually sung in country circles in the maudlin manner of the original version by its writer Claude “Curly” Putnam.

There are still a few people out there who have not yet come to regard soul and country as musical equals. Hopefully “Behind Closed Doors: Where Country Meets Soul” will help to right that wrong and lead to further understanding of why so many country songs have been turned into soul classics down the years.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Grand Tour - Aaron Neville

  • 02 Preview He'll Have To Go - Solomon Burke

  • 03 Preview Take Time To Know Her - Percy Sledge

  • 04 Preview I Saw Me - Esther Phillips

  • 05 Preview My Elusive Dreams - Moses & Joshua Dillard

  • 06 Preview Hangin' On - Ann Peebles

  • 07 Preview My Shoes Keep Walking Back To You - Bobby Sheen

  • 08 Preview Wings Upon Your Horns - Tami Lynn

  • 09 Preview Before The Next Teardrop Falls - The Limelites

  • 10 Preview I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry - Al Green

  • 11 Preview Life Turned Her That Way - James Carr

  • 12 Preview He Called Me Baby - Candi Staton

  • 13 Preview The Chokin' Kind - Z.Z. Hill

  • 14 Preview Yours, Love - Joe Simon

  • 15 Preview Your Good Girl's Gonna Go Bad - Cookie Jackson

  • 16 Preview Detroit City - Arthur Alexander

  • 17 Preview Gentle On My Mind - Tony Borders

  • 18 Preview Don't Touch Me - Bettye Swann

  • 19 Preview Set Me Free - Clarence Carter

  • 20 Preview Behind Closed Doors - Little Milton

  • 21 Preview If You're Not Back In Love By Monday (Alt vocal) - Millie Jackson

  • 22 Preview Skip A Rope - Joe Tex

  • 23 Preview She Even Woke Me Up To Say Goodbye - Brook Benton

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A powerful collection ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought