Bandera Doo Wop Various Artists (Bandera Records)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Bandera Doo Wop (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Limited edition of 1500.

Some years after Ray Topping first explored the Bandera tapes for Ace (check out “Bandera Blues & Gospel” CDCHD 808 and “Bandera Rockabilly & Country Roots” CDCHD 811) we now bring you the pick of the Chicago-based label’s doo wop output.

It is only fitting that much of this collection should be devoted to the Impressions featuring Jerry Butler, without whose big hit ‘For Your Precious Love’ the Bandera label might never have got off the ground. Of the 11 Impressions tracks contained here, seven are previously unissued. On nine of the titles the line-up is Jerry Butler, Curtis Mayfield and Sam Gooden, with Fred Cash replacing Butler on the other two.

Vi Muszynski and her son, Bernie Harville Jr, had talked of forming a record company. When Vi spotted the Impressions in April 1958, although she didn’t have a label yet, she signed the group to a recording contract. She worked with the group and fortunately for us recorded their rehearsal sessions, which are released here for the first time. Then, still with no company herself, Vi leased their finished recordings to Vee-Jay, who issued ‘For Your Precious Love’ before quickly withdrawing it and repressing it on their Falcon subsidiary. The success of the record justified Vi’s faith in the group and the royalties she earned set Bandera Records off and running, but the single also gained the attention of a Texas-based company who owned the name Falcon, forcing a name change to Abner, on which imprint sales continued. When two more records released during 1958 did not yield the same success, Vee-Jay decided to separate Jerry Butler from the Impressions. With no money to fight a legal battle she had scant chance of winning, Vi found herself with a leaderless group. In the meantime, with Vi looking after the doo wop, blues and gospel roster and Bernie handling the country and rockabilly artists, Bandera Records had become a reality, producing some fine waxings in all of those categories.

It is sad for all involved, that in those far off days when payola ruled, Vi and Bernie didn’t have the funds to promote the releases on Bandera. There is no doubt that had the cards fallen differently many of the tracks to be heard here had the quality to provide that elusive hit.

Of the 26 tracks featured, 22 are appearing on legal CD for the first time, ten are previously unreleased and all have been remastered to give the best possible sound. The CD is the latest in our Deluxe limited edition series and only 1500 will be pressed.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Oh Why Oh Why - The Diatones

  • 02 Preview Rowdy Mae - The Epics

  • 03 Preview You Didn't Learn That In School - Kirk Taylor & The Majestics

  • 04 Preview Sweet Was The Wine (demo with percussion) - The Impressions

  • 05 Preview Shorty's Got To Go (demo, slow version) - The Impressions

  • 06 Preview Ruby Has Gone - The Diatones

  • 07 Preview Please Tell Me - The Fleetones

  • 08 Preview Summer's Coming In - The Epics

  • 09 Preview For Your Precious Love (demo) - The Impressions

  • 10 Preview I Know My Baby Loves Me - The Impressions

  • 11 Preview I've Got A Girl - The Impressions

  • 12 Preview Run Run Daddy - The Majestics

  • 13 Preview Your Lover Man - The Fleetones

  • 14 Preview Oh Baby, Come Dance With Me - The Diatones

  • 15 Preview She's A Problem - Bobby Davis & The Big "3" Trio

  • 16 Preview From Out Of This World - Kirk Taylor & The Majestics

  • 17 Preview Love Causes People To Go Insane - The Boomerangs

  • 18 Preview Don't Drive Me Away - The Impressions

  • 19 Preview You Are The Only One - The Impressions

  • 20 Preview Pretty Betty - The Impressions

  • 21 Preview Sweet Was The Wine - The Impressions

  • 22 Preview Shorty's Got To Go - The Impressions with The Riley Hampton Orchestra

  • 23 Preview One Love Have I - Bobby Davis & The Big "3" Trio

  • 24 Preview Listen - The Impressions with The Riley Hampton Orchestra

  • 25 Preview Telling Lies - The Boomerangs

  • 26 Preview (I've Just Got To) Cut You Loose - The Boomerangs

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Rich doo-wop pickings. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought