Atlanta - Hotbed Of 70s Soul Various Artists (Hotlanta/ GMG)


70s Soul
Catalogue Id:

The GRC Records set-up in Atlanta produced a wealth of great soul music. Because of the sudden curtailment of the company, due to owner Michael Thevis’ incarceration, so much of it never saw a release.

The tapes were preserved though and with many tracks being issued. This latest batch of tape discoveries is of shockingly high quality. Sam Dees’ presence is a major cause of this.

Standouts include Miss Louistine’s original version of ‘Con Me’ – surely a contender to be a Deep Soul Treasure, had Dave Godin heard it. Her take on Dees’ ‘Extra Extra’ is possibly the opposite emotion – sheer joy at finding her lover; equally well expressed. ‘Paperman’ is a classic mid 70s Dees’ composition, well sung by Wes Lewis with his group Alpaca Phase III. Dees collaborated with another major GRC talent, Joe Hinton, for the funkier ‘Shouldn’t I Be Given The Right To Be Wrong’. Hinton co-penned two songs with backing singer Louvain Demps who left her job with Motown’s backing girls the Andantes to move to Atlanta with Hinton. Their ‘Grant Me One More Day’ is a beautiful track and ‘Depend On Me’ is another worthy find.

Personally, I was stunned by a tape from one Kenneth Wright, who seems to be unknown and unfindable these days. Back in the 70s he wrote a reel of great demo songs for GRC and cut a couple on himself. ‘The Souls Of Black Folks’ is a tour de force. Apart from the quality of the song and Wright’s singing, it features an ethereal female vocal that takes it to another level.

Detroiters Deep Velvet travelled down to Atlanta to sing ‘Is There Someone Else’ a poignant ballad written by Counts member Moses Davis. They also contribute their original recording of the uptempo ‘I’m Tired Of Dreaming’. The Joe Hinton and Marlin McNichols number was later issued as by Pure Velvet on Osiris.

Other highlights abound, there are two ballads from Lorraine Johnson, one previously unheard and an alternate version of ‘Keep On Walking’ by the Detroit group the Steppers. Southern soul purveyor Joe Graham has two newly found songs and the unknown Shirlean Fant delivers an amazing performance on ‘Sure Could Do With Some You’ that she co-wrote.

Lomita Johnson, from the first Side Effect group, sings the original version of Dee Dee McNeil and Dee Ervin’s ‘There’ll Always Be Forever’, which was later a hit for Nancy Wilson.

Dorothy Norwood, King Hannibal, Jean Battle, Dee Ervin and Dee Clark all have excellent and historically interesting tracks and a long-speculated, unknown song’s writer is revealed to be … Sam Dees – who else?

Several interviews helped fill in the details for the 5,000 + word sleeve notes and some newly found photos also help the package shine.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Con Me - Miss Louistine

  • 02 Preview Paper Man - Alpaca Phase III

  • 03 Preview Is There Someone Else - Deep Velvet

  • 04 Preview The Souls Of Black Folks (Unreleased Aware Recording) - Kenneth Wright

  • 05 Preview Grant Me One More Day - Joe Hinton

  • 06 Preview Keep On Walking - The Steppers

  • 07 Preview Time Is Winding Up - Dorothy Norwood

  • 08 Preview Love Making - Jean Battle

  • 09 Preview Extra-Extra - Miss Louistine

  • 10 Preview I'm Tired Of Dreaming - Deep Velvet

  • 11 Preview Depend On Me - Joe Hinton

  • 12 Preview Me And Jen - Kenneth Wright

  • 13 Preview What Am I To Do - Joe Graham

  • 14 Preview Sure Could Do With Some You - Shirlean Fant

  • 15 Preview Someone To Run To - Alpaca Phase III

  • 16 Preview Can I Hold You To It? - Lorraine Johnson

  • 17 Preview When Will I Stop Loving You - Lorraine Johnson

  • 18 Preview I Need Me Some More Of You - Dee Ervin

  • 19 Preview Shouldn't I Be Given The Right To Be Wrong - Joe Hinton

  • 20 Preview Fight Fire With Fire - King Hannibal

  • 21 Preview Talk's Cheap - The Surprise Sisters

  • 22 Preview Loneliness Hurts Just A Little Bit - Joe Graham

  • 23 Preview There'll Always Be Forever - Lomita Johnson

  • 24 Preview My Peaceful Forest - Dee Clark

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought