Catalogue Id:
CDBGP 1015

As Gilles Peterson's sleeve note to the first volume says this is a scam. In the wake of Acid House and the return to the bright shiny lights of the 60s, it seemed like a good idea to append the 'A' word to a rather jaded jazz scene, and try to bring it back to life. So with a swift leap away from the bop grooves that had long ruled the roost it was 'have a nice day' Ivan Boogaloo Joe Jones, Pucho, Houston Person and many others who were definitely not Miles Davis.

At the same times things started to get a little more funky and those feet firmly in the rare groove camp took note. BGP sold a lot of wax, since across the Fantasy group of labels compilers Peterson and FeJazz found a gold mine of suitably wigged out sides for this new venture. Despite the piss taking side the serious intent was to scam a few of those from the house, go-go and other such disco-dance movements, in the hope that a few of them may end up gettin' seriously hip... and who am I to argue?? So here we have the first three volumes of the BGP Acid Jazz series, with bonus sides scavenged from the 4th volume. So it's hello sailor and get on one matey!!


Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought