When The Day Is Done - The Orchestrations Of Robert Kirby Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1517

Nick Drake's first two albums – “Five Leaves Left” and “Bryter Layter” - famously sold in tiny numbers when they were first released at the turn of the seventies. Their re-evaluation in the decades since, and the ever-increasing number of Drake fans around the world - now stretching into the hundreds of thousands - has a lot to do with Robert Kirby, whose string, brass and woodwind arrangements helped to make the records so distinctive.

Totemic of a post-sixties, post-swinging England that wore a greatcoat and kicked up leaves, Kirby’s orchestrations were relaxed, familiar, and entirely autumnal. His talent was appreciated by producer/manager Sandy Roberton, who booked him for other prime British folk-rockers - Ian Matthews, Spirogyra, Shelagh McDonald, Keith Christmas - and by Joe Boyd who asked Kirby to work with Vashti Bunyan.

By the end of the decade, when he quit arranging for an office job, there was almost no one in the folk rock canon Robert Kirby hadn't worked with: Steve Ashley, Shirley Collins, Ralph McTell, Sandy Denny, Richard and Linda Thompson. He came out of retirement at the end of the nineties and had never been busier than he was at the time of his unexpected death in 2009. “When The Day Is Done” concentrates on his first wave of success, when a Robert Kirby arrangement was a guarantee of something special, a particular melancholic beauty. 

Compilation and sleeve note by Bob Stanley.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Introduction - Nick Drake

  • 02 Preview Forest And The Shore - Keith Christmas

  • 03 Preview Ophelia's Song - Shelagh McDonald

  • 04 Preview I Keep A Close Watch - John Cale

  • 05 Preview Dancing At Whitsun - Tim Hart & Maddy Pryor

  • 06 Preview Rainbow River - Vashti Bunyan

  • 07 Preview I've Seen The Movie - Andy Roberts

  • 08 Preview White Witch - Spriguns

  • 09 Preview It's My Own Way - Gillian McPherson

  • 10 Preview Follow On - Steve Ashley

  • 11 Preview Silver Threads And Golden Needles - Sandy Denny

  • 12 Preview Love Is A Funny Thing - Spirogyra

  • 13 Preview Friend To Me - Gary Shearston

  • 14 Preview Honour Bright - Shirley Collins

  • 15 Preview First Light - Richard & Linda Thompson

  • 16 Preview Raviolé - Audience

  • 17 Preview Madonna Blue - Illusion

  • 18 Preview Gimme An Inch Girl - Ian Matthews

  • 19 Preview What Memories We Make - Dana Gillespie

  • 20 Preview Pick Up A Gun - Ralph McTell

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought