What Are You Doing To Me - The Complete A-Bet Recordings Plus Freddie North


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

To complement our collection of respected songwriter/arranger/producer Bob Holmes’ work this month, Kent also brings to catalogue a long-overdue anthology by Holmes’ fellow Nashville resident Freddie North.

For more than a decade North combined his day job as Head of Promotion for the Nashboro group of labels with a career as a singer on the company’s A-Bet and Mankind imprints.
Most of his earlier Mankind releases, including the hit single ‘She’s All I Got’, have long been resident in the Ace catalogue. “What Are You Doing To Me” backtracks to bring all of his 1960s recordings for A-Bet, including unissued material, to CD for the first time.
By way of a bonus, the collection also adds a helping of North’s later Mankind sides – most of which are also making their CD debut, including three unissued goodies. As you would expect, the booklet is filled with rare photos, label shots and an extensive note.
North’s warm, Jerry Butler-like baritone has long been a favourite among fans of vintage soul. They will welcome the chance to add this long-unavailable repertoire to their collections, as will any lover of quality 1960s and 1970s southern soul.

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Gotta Go Get Your Mommy (To Come Back Home)

  • 02 Love To Hate

  • 03 Rainy Night In Georgia

  • 04 Thank That Woman

  • 05 I Loved Another Woman

  • 06 From The Blind Side

  • 07 Sun Comes Up

  • 08 Oh Lord, What Are You Doing To Me

  • 09 I Have A Dream

  • 10 Don't Make Me Look So Bad

  • 11 (I've Got To) Hold Back

  • 12 Running Back To You

  • 13 Just Another Guy

  • 14 A Long Hard Road

  • 15 Follow The Lamb

  • 16 You're Killing Me Slowly But Surely

  • 17 Lovin' On Back Streets

  • 18 Taking Her Love Ain't Gonna Be Easy

  • 19 'Til I Get It Right

  • 20 Remember What I Told You To Forget

  • 21 That's How Much You Mean To Me

  • 22 My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)

  • 23 Cuss The Wind

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought