The Other Brother - A Solo Anthology 1965-1970 Bobby Hatfield


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1502

The voices of the Righteous Brothers are still heard all over the world today, thanks to magnificent mid-60s hits such as ‘You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’’ and ‘(You’re My) Soul And Inspiration’.
Although the duo was a 50/50 partnership, deep-voiced Bill Medley is probably better remembered by the public than Bobby Hatfield. Nevertheless, it was the soulful tenor of Hatfield that propelled ‘Unchained Melody’ to the top of the charts in 1966, and again in 1988 thanks to exposure in the blockbuster film Ghost. 
When the act disbanded in 1968, both men pursued solo careers, with limited success. Medley’s solo work has been anthologised but this Ace release is the first time Hatfield has been afforded a CD showcasing his own massive and much-missed talents.
“The Other Brother” is an essential release, for not just Righteous Brothers fans but for everyone who enjoys quality late 60s soul music. Along with three Righteous Brothers hits that were Bobby Hatfield solo recordings in all but name, the collection features a cross-section of his best solo 45s, plus his only album, 1971’s “Messin’ In Muscle Shoals”, in its entirety.
Also included are six previously unissued tracks from the album sessions and elsewhere in his Verve discography, three of which were mixed for the first time from the original multi-tracks for this collection.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Hang-Ups

  • 02 Ebb Tide

  • 03 Soul Café

  • 04 Crying In The Chapel

  • 05 In My Mind

  • 06 (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons

  • 07 What's A Matter Baby

  • 08 Paradise

  • 09 Unchained Melody

  • 10 What You Want

  • 11 So Much Love

  • 12 See That Girl

  • 13 Brothers

  • 14 You Left the Water Running

  • 15 Let It Be

  • 16 If I Asked You

  • 17 The Promised Land

  • 18 Shuckin' And Jivin'

  • 19 I Saw A Lark

  • 20 You Get A Lot To Like

  • 21 Show Me the Sunshine

  • 22 The Feeling Is Right

  • 23 Messin' In Muscle Shoals

  • 24 Woman You Got No Soul

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought