Nothing But The Truth - 3 Albums On 2 CDs Plus Bonus Tracks The Undisputed Truth


70s Soul
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 469

Put together by esteemed writer-producer Norman Whitfield, the Undisputed Truth were one of Motown’s flagship acts in the early-mid 70s, with 15 R&B chart hits – including their near chart-topper ‘Smiling Faces Sometimes’ and the original version of ‘Papa Was A Rolling Stone’ –  and a string of best-selling albums.

Surprisingly, only one of the original four Motown albums by the group’s classic one-guy-two-girl trio has ever been reissued on CD until now. Generally regarded by fans as the group’s best, it’s a pleasure to finally have these albums available digitally, as they were originally heard.

“Nothing But The Truth” features the group’s eponymous debut plus their “Down To Earth” and “Law Of The Land” albums in their entirety and as originally issued by US Motown. It also features a generous selection of non-album A and B sides, previously un-reissued alternate single mixes and edits plus other rarities from UT’s golden era.  

With typically extensive annotation and illustration throughout, the sleeve note is based around a new interview with Joe Harris, the group’s featured male lead throughout its Motown tenure.

Kent’s latest addition to its ever-growing Motown range will definitely win the approval of the many Motown completists who have been clamouring for the reissue of these albums on CD for many, many years.

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 You Got The Love I Need

  • 02 Save My Love For A Rainy Day

  • 03 California Soul

  • 04 Aquarius

  • 05 Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today)

  • 06 Smiling Faces Sometimes

  • 07 We've Got A Way Out Love

  • 08 Since I've Lost You

  • 09 Ain't No Sun Since You've Been Gone

  • 10 I Heard It Through The Grapevine

  • 11 Like A Rolling Stone

  • 12 Law Of The Land

  • 13 Papa Was A Rolling Stone

  • 14 Girl You're Alright

  • 15 Killing Me Softly With His Song

  • 16 Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)

  • 17 This Child Needs Its Father

Side 2

  • 01 Mama I Gotta Brand New Thing (Don't Say No)

  • 02 Feelin' Alright?

  • 03 Love And Happiness

  • 04 With A Little Help From My Friends

  • 05 If I Die

  • 06 Walk On By

  • 07 Help Yourself

  • 08 Big John Is My Name

  • 09 Brother Louie

  • 10 I'm A Fool For You

  • 11 Our Day Will Come

  • 12 Just You 'N' Me

  • 13 The Girl's Alright With Me

  • 14 Let's Go Back To Day One

  • 15 What It Is (Single version)

  • 16 What's Going On (Single edit)

  • 17 You Make Your Own Heaven And Hell Right Here On Earth (Single edit)

  • 18 Gonna Keep On Tryin' Till I Win Your Love

  • 19 Law Of The Land (Single version)

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought