Jon Savage's 1967 - The Year Pop Divided Various Artists (Jon Savage)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 1495

Jon Savage follows up last year’s “1966” 2CD set with a similarly packaged anthology of hits and rarities from 1967. There is no accompanying book this time – so you’ll have to buy this to read all about it in his sleeve notes.
Now typified as the year of flower power, 1967 was the year the 60s divided. During those 12 months, the revenues from LP sales in Britain finally overtook those from 45s. It’s also the year when the British singles charts suddenly revealed a vacuum that, in March 1967, was filled by a Top 10 that included Englebert Humperdinck, Petula Clark, Harry Secombe, Vince Hill, the Seekers and other mums and dads records that you will not be hearing on this compilation.
For despite this sudden outburst of “reactione”, the single was still king … just. It took a while for albums to take over – this happened with the massive success of “Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” in the summer. Although outlawed on 14 August 1967, the Pirate Radio stations were still operating for much of the year, with their highly eclectic playlists: soul was rampant, and many psychedelicised acts still felt compelled to pour all their ideas into three or four-minute symphonies for the kids.
The transatlantic split had begun to deepen, with America firmly in the driving seat. The UK chart might have been dominated by a succession of dreary ballads at #1 (‘Release Me’, ‘The Last Waltz’, ‘Silence is Golden’, ‘Let The Heartaches Begin’ etc) but the US had chart-toppers like ‘Light My Fire’, ‘Respect’, ‘Groovin’’ and, god bless the Strawberry Alarm Clock, ‘Incense And Peppermints’. The British equivalent of psychedelia had less of a look in at the top but resulted in fabulous Toytown hits like Simon Dupree’s ‘Kites’ and Traffic’s ‘Hole in My Shoe’.
The tension that made great pop was still there: by the next year, it would be dissipating further in the UK once the pirates were off the air and Radio 1 began its more restrictive playlist. By then, the cutting edge groups were concentrating on albums and standalone singles were falling by the wayside. The rock era had begun.

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star - The Byrds

  • 02 Preview I'm A Man - The Spencer Davis Group

  • 03 Preview The Beat Goes On - Sonny & Cher

  • 04 Preview Try It - The Attack

  • 05 Preview Levitation - The Thirteenth Floor Elevators

  • 06 Preview The Behemoth - The Shadows Of Knight

  • 07 Preview Never Ever - The Action

  • 08 Preview Take Me In Your Arms And Love Me - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 09 Preview Believe It Or Not - Rex Garvin & The Mighty Cravers

  • 10 Preview Feelin' Reelin' Squeelin' - The Soft Machine

  • 11 Preview I Can Hear The Grass Grow - The Move

  • 12 Preview Show Me - Joe Tex

  • 13 Preview Groovin' - The Young Rascals

  • 14 Preview So You Say You Lost Your Baby - Gene Clark

  • 15 Preview Western Union - The Searchers

  • 16 Preview Soul Finger - The Bar-Kays

  • 17 Preview Respect - Aretha Franklin

  • 18 Preview The Hand Don't Fit The Glove - Terry Reid with Peter Jay's Jaywalkers

  • 19 Preview Night Of The Long Grass - The Troggs

  • 20 Preview I'm Five Years Ahead Of My Time - The Third Bardo

  • 21 Preview So Sharp - Dyke & The Blazers

  • 22 Preview Cold Sweat Pt 1 - James Brown & The Famous Flames

  • 23 Preview Mr Soul - The Buffalo Springfield

  • 24 Preview Alternate Title (Aka Randy Scouse Git) - The Monkees

Side 2

  • 01 Preview At The Third Stroke - The Picadilly Line

  • 02 Preview Hold On - Sharon Tandy

  • 03 Preview Lazy Life - William E

  • 04 Preview Reflections - Diana Ross & The Supremes

  • 05 Preview The Idol - The Fortunes

  • 06 Preview Dream Magazine - Svensk

  • 07 Preview I See The Rain - The Marmalade

  • 08 Preview You Keep Running Away - Four Tops

  • 09 Preview Yellow Brick Road - Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band

  • 10 Preview Slim Jenkins' Place - Booker T & The MG's

  • 11 Preview Revolution - Tomorrow

  • 12 Preview Stop And Listen - The Shag

  • 13 Preview Psyche Rock - Les Yper Sound

  • 14 Preview Look At Me I'm You - The Blossom Toes

  • 15 Preview Love Power - The Sandpebbles

  • 16 Preview The Wind Blows Your Hair - The Seeds

  • 17 Preview Suzanah's Still Alive - Dave Davies

  • 18 Preview The One I Love - Ken Boothe

  • 19 Preview I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me) - James Brown & The Famous Flames

  • 20 Preview Chain Of Fools - Aretha Franklin

  • 21 Preview Garden Of My Mind - The Mickey Finn

  • 22 Preview Vacuum Cleaner - Tintern Abbey

  • 23 Preview It's Been A Long Time - Andy Ellison

  • 24 Preview The Music Goes Round My Head - The Easybeats

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought