I Think Of You - The Westbound Singles 1969-75 The Detroit Emeralds


70s Soul
Catalogue Id:

One of the most popular soul trios of their time, both at home in the US and here in the UK where they toured frequently, the Detroit Emeralds’ Westbound 45s maintained a constant presence in the soul and pop charts on both sides of the pond until 1974, when the original group split up.
All in all, the group released 11 US singles between 1969 and 1975. Most (but not all) of the songs on those singles have been reissued before, but “I Think Of You” marks the first time that all of the group’s A-sides and B-sides have been presented – in the order of their release and as they were originally heard – on one CD – with several mono-only 45 mixes appearing in a digital format for the first time.
Hits like ‘Do Me Right’, ‘You Want It – You Got It’, ‘Feel The Need In Me’ and the UK-only release ‘I Think Of You’ (included as a bonus in its original mono 45 edit) sound as charming now as they did 40-plus years ago. They will forever ensure a place in the hearts of all lovers of classic soul for this most excellent of trios.
The first new compilation of vintage Detroit Emeralds material in almost 20 years.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Holding On

  • 02 Things Are Looking Up

  • 03 I Bet You Get The One (Who Loves You)

  • 04 If I Lose Your Love

  • 05 I Can't See Myself Doing Without You

  • 06 Just Now And Then

  • 07 Do Me Right

  • 08 Wear This Ring (With Love)

  • 09 You Want It, You Got It

  • 10 Till You Decide To Come Home

  • 11 Baby Let Me Take You (In My Arms)

  • 12 I'll Never Sail The Sea Again

  • 13 Feel The Need In Me

  • 14 There's A Love For Me Somewhere

  • 15 You're Gettin' A Little Too Smart

  • 16 Heaven Couldn't Be Like This

  • 17 Lee

  • 18 What'cha Gonna Wear Tomorrow

  • 19 Set It Out

  • 20 I'm Qualified

  • 21 Rosetta Stone

  • 22 Yes, I Know I'm In Love

  • 23 I Think Of You (UK Single Edit)

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought