Bluesin' By The Bayou - Ain't Broke, Ain't Hungry Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1506

The 18th in our series of “Bayou” releases, “Ain’t Broke, Ain’t Hungry” is the fourth volume of “Bluesin’”.

Returning to South Louisiana for another helping of the blues, this 28-tracker includes rare or previously unissued tracks from stars of the genre such as Lightnin’ Slim, Lazy Lester and Slim Harpo, plus a host of little-known or completely unknown performers.

The set also features two surprises; artists who you would never think performed in the down-home style: Barbara Lynn and Cookie (aka Huey Thierry, of Cupcake fame), but they sound right at home, with the unknown harmonica player setting the tone on Barbara’s track and Cupcakes’ guitarist Marshall Leday supporting his frontman with some mean blues pickin’.

As always there are a handful of mystery singers – was there really a “Ramblin’ Hi Harris” or, as with Blues Boy Dorsey, was his name created later when JD Miller was uncertain as to the performer’s identity? That’s something for the listener to ponder whilst enjoying these cuts. And, of course, there is always the artist-with-no-name who closes the set!

Eight of the 28 tracks are previously unreleased.

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Pleadin' - Mercy Baby

  • 02 Preview I've Been In This Prison - Leroy Washington

  • 03 Preview Little Girl Blues (aka The Blues And My Woman) - Lightnin' Slim

  • 04 Preview I Haven't Got A Home - Ramblin' Hi Harris

  • 05 Preview Better Start Doin' It - 'Honey Boy' Allen Pierre

  • 06 Preview Cigarettes - Slim Harpo

  • 07 Preview Hoo Doo Blues - Lightnin' Slim

  • 08 Preview Ain't Broke, Ain't Hungry - Polka Dot Slim

  • 09 Preview I'm A Lover Not A Fighter - Lazy Lester

  • 10 Preview Dreaming Dreaming - Joe Richards

  • 11 Preview Still In Love With You - Al Smith

  • 12 Preview In The Evening - Cookie & The Cupcakes

  • 13 Preview A Thing You Gotta Face - Polka Dot Slim

  • 14 Preview Life Gets Hard - Jake Jackson

  • 15 Preview Sugar Coated Love - Barbara Lynn

  • 16 Preview Tee Black - Boozoo Chavis & His Zodico Accordian

  • 17 Preview Angel Please - Jimmy Anderson & The Joy Jumpers

  • 18 Preview Make Me Cry - Clarence Garlow

  • 19 Preview Hamburgers & Popcorn - Boozoo Chavis & His Zodico Accordian

  • 20 Preview I Hate To Leave You Baby - Lightnin' Slim

  • 21 Preview If I Don't See You - Al Smith

  • 22 Preview Baby, Baby, Baby - Ramblin' Hi Harris

  • 23 Preview I Don't Know - Lightnin' Slim

  • 24 Preview If The Blues Was Money - Big Walter

  • 25 Preview Somebody Tell Me - Jake Jackson

  • 26 Preview I Love Her So - Al Smith

  • 27 Preview Don't Change Your Mind - T.B. Fisher

  • 28 Preview I'm Gonna Find My Baby - Unknown Artist

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought