Birth Of Soul - Special Detroit Edition 1961-64 Various Artists (Birth of Soul)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Detroit gave the world soul music through the success of Motown Records, who were scoring hits from 1959 onwards. Their latest sound would be studied and aped by hundreds of acts around the city.
Our “Birth Of Soul – Detroit Special Edition” has many Motown connections, including a previously unheard early Martha & the Vandellas track from their Del-Phis years – one of the songs was co-written by Berry Gordy’s first wife Thelma.
Influential writer, producer and early Motown artist Richard “Popcorn” Wylie features on two tracks and Funk Brother Joe Hunter co-wrote another pair. Detroit soul heroes J.J. Barnes with ‘Just One More Time’, Gino Washington’s ‘I’m Comin’ Home’ and Melvin Davis with ‘Wedding Bells’ represent the city’s evergreen stars who sang there right through the soul years.
There are unissued gems from Norman Whitfield’s group the Sonnettes, Tony Clarke, who would go on to success at Chess, and Leon Peterson. Mike Hanks and Dave Hamilton’s stables of acts are represented through James Lately, La Wanda William, Geraldine Hunt, the Penn-etts and others.
More successful was Barbara Lewis, whose glorious ‘Think A Little Sugar’ featured on the flip of her ‘Hello Stranger’ hit. Timmy Shaw’s ‘I’m A Lonely Guy’ also sold well as the flip to his hit ‘Gonna Send You Back To Georgia’. The Falcons and Volumes were big male vocal group acts in the city; the Pyramids less so. Like Melvin Davis, Betty Lavett was there at the start and performs to this day.
The Donays’ ‘Devil In His Heart’ earned international fame when the Beatles included it on their second LP. It was produced by the Correc-Tone stable that also provides brilliant early soul from Marva Josie and Laura Johnson.
The vast majority of tracks are new to CD; some are new to the world.
Compiled by Ady Croasdell. Notes by Graham Finch.

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 I Cried For My Last Time - The Sonnettes

  • 02 Think A Little Sugar - Barbara Lewis

  • 03 Come Back To Me - La Wanda William

  • 04 I'm A Lonely Guy - Timmy Shaw & The Sternphones

  • 05 Just One More Time - J.J. Barnes

  • 06 Everything's Gonna Be Alright - Leon Peterson

  • 07 You Lied - Marva Josie

  • 08 Here I Am - Betty Lavett

  • 09 My Letter - Priscilla Page

  • 10 I Know How It Feels - Laura Johnson

  • 11 Oh Baby - The Falcons

  • 12 Tears Running And Falling From My Eyes - James Lately

  • 13 Wedding Bells - Melvin Davis

  • 14 End Of Time - Gino Washington

  • 15 Shakin' Fit - The Pyramids

  • 16 It's Easy - Tony Clarke

  • 17 That's No Way To Spend My Time - The Pen Etts

  • 18 Devil In His Heart - The Donays

  • 19 Don't You Know (How You Thrilled Me When You Kissed Me) - Charmaine

  • 20 Why - The Volumes

  • 21 It Never Happened Before - Geraldine Hunt

  • 22 Can't We Get Together (One More Time) - Harry Reid

  • 23 Answer Me - Vivian Collins

  • 24 Nosey Folk - The Del-Phis

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought